Paediatric Critical Care is the close observation, monitoring and therapies to children and young people who are, or have the potential to be, physiologically unstable which is beyond the capability of a general paediatric ward. Paediatric Critical Care consists of three levels of care, and the Operational Delivery Network covers all of these: 

  • Level 1 (L1) critical care (Basic Critical Care) 
  • Level 2 (L2) critical care (Intermediate Critical Care) 
  • Level 3 (L3) critical care (Advanced Critical Care – Intensive Care) 

The national review of paediatric services delivered by NHS England identified 5 key areas for the 10 Paediatric Critical Care Operational Delivery Networks across England to prioritise: 

  • Paediatric Intensive Care (Level 3 Paediatric Critical Care) 
  • Paediatric High Dependency Care (Levels 1 and 2 Paediatric Critical Care) 
  • Paediatric Critical Care Transport 
  • Long Term Ventilation 
  • Paediatric Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) 

Within the East Midlands, our hospitals deliver different levels of care depending on the commissioned arrangements, these can be seen on our partners tab.  

There are seven NHS Trusts and nine hospitals within the East Midlands Paediatric Critical Care Operational Delivery Network as outlined on the map below 

These hospitals provide the following levels of Paediatric critical care  

  • Leicester- Level 1, 2 and 3 = Wards, High Dependency Units (HDU), and  Paediatric Intensive care Units (PICU) 
  • Nottingham - Level 1, 2 and 3 = Wards, High Dependency Units (HDU), and Paediatric Intensive care Units (PICU) 
  • Derby – Level 1 and 2= Ward based bed and High Dependency Units (HDU), 
  • Burton- No Critical l Care commissioned  
  • Kettering- Level 1 = Ward base bed  
  • Northampton - Level 1 and 2 = Ward based bed and High Dependency Units (HDU), 
  • Lincoln – Level 1 = Ward Based Bed  
  • Boston -  
  • Sherwood Forest - Level 1 = Ward Based Bed     

Although Chesterfield is situated in the East Midlands, critical care provision is commissioned via the Yorkshire and Humber Operational Delivery Network due to the close proximity to Sheffield Children’s Hospitals 

 Our network provides the opportunity to bring together key stakeholders from across the region, including clinicians, providers, commissioners, children, young people, and their carers to make changes across complex systems of care to improve outcomes and ensure the best possible care across the East Midlands region. 

EM PCC ODN aims to provide clear governance over the whole pathway for Children, Young People who require critical care intervention and hopes to deliver benefits in the following areas: 

Improve Quality of Care 

  • Improve equitable access to services 
  • Ensure appropriate services are available 
  • Provide services as close to home as possible 
  • Deliver best value  
  • Provide a sustainable Model of Care 

Ensure Patient Centred Care 

  • Ensure Children , Young People and their Carers  families are involved in their children’s care 
  • Develop an active patient engagement strategy 
  • Standardise information for families 

Reduce Variation in Care 

  • Develop network supported standards 
  • Develop network supported clinical pathways 

Deliver a Sustainable Workforce 

  • Consolidate skills and expertise 
  • Improve access to education and development 
  • Develop a workforce strategy